My Thoughts on Personal Disasters

 

Murphy’s Law says, “Anything that can go wrong will go wrong.”

I can’t write about a time when this actually happened because it has never happened to me – or to anyone else, probably.

I’m going to guess that the majority of my blog readers are adults because there are only so many adolescents that can be interested in reading blogs.

If you’re an adult, everyone’s bound to have a mid-life crisis sooner or later. Of course, I’m not a grownup but I think it’s safe to assume that MOST adults are much more mature than kids.

If you happen to be a teenager, then thanks for reading!

Sure, we’re all teenagers. We have our day-to-day dramas and our world seems to turn upside down every other week but whether or not you react rationally to such a “crisis” depends upon two things: your perspective and your maturity.

We just don’t get it. This – my not being an adult – is precisely the reason why I can’t talk about a time when Murphy’s Law has ever applied to my life.

When I was in seventh grade, unlimited texting was the cool thing to have. I didn’t have it originally and I used to argue with my parents for days, coming up with stupid explanations to justify them buying me an unlimited texting plan.

Same thing happened with an iPhone. Or a certain clothing item, or a pair of headphones.

Those are the things that consumed my life when I was just a little younger. These sorts of material possessions seemed to determine my self-worth, and thus I just “had to have them.”

Sadly, not having one of these things would turn my world upside down and I’m ashamed to say that it would make me sullen for days on end.

So if I had started this blog back in seventh grade and been given this quote about Murphy’s Law, I would probably rant about not having unlimited texting or something.

Eventually, I got an iPhone, and a pair of cool headphones. While there are definite perks to having such things, in this present day and age, it really doesn’t matter to me anymore. I’ve got more important priorities to manage right now, and it’s amazing how much these desires shrink when compared to more substantial, reasonable goals.

If you maturely define what actually matters, anything that can go wrong will never always go wrong, especially not at the same time.

There will be “travesties” that can easily be disregarded simply because they don’t really impact your life in much of a way. There will be huge upsets in your life that you won’t expect that will make it seem like the end of the world, but seldom does that actually mean your life is ruined. Your day could easily be ruined though.

But what if we woke up everyday and decided that we were in a good mood? Would we reach world peace? Or would everyone just look a tad bit less cranky every morning?

These are my thoughts on personal disasters.

169717_512x288_generated

I don’t know why but today seems like it’s gonna be a great day
There’s something in the air that makes me feel like things are gonna go my way

10 comments

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – A Comedy of Errors – Flash Fiction / Short Story – “A Successful Succession of Snafus” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)
  2. Pingback: Comedy of Errors… When does it stop being funny? | Travel Making Kai :)
  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Comedy of Errors Making Pasta | My Blog
  4. Pingback: The notepad | Paul Scribbles
  5. Pingback: Ten Years of Shock and Awe | Cheri Speak
  6. Pingback: I Didn’t Make Parole | The Jittery Goat
  7. Pingback: Out of Gas | Cheri Speak
  8. Pingback: The Worst is Over, Maybe | Beyond Beauty Tips
  9. Pingback: The little things | Spunky Wayfarer
  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Comedy of Errors: Make Your Own Luck! | A YoungEmt's Blog

Share your opinion!

